Home Page

Share this school board profile with your neighbors, friends and families as well as other concerned parents.

QC, English Montreal School Board (EMSB)

hdsb-banner


thumb CBC-frank
C4ST's Frank Clegg featured on CBC News
thumb CTV-frank C4ST's Frank Clegg featured on CTV News

 


C4ST Takes Aim at Wi-Fi in Schools

As students returned to school Tuesday, Oakville-based Canadians for Safe Technology (C4ST) took to the streets to voice concerns about student safety. Several C4ST members handed out pamphlets outside Kenollie Public School in Peel to raise awareness of the possible health impacts of unrestricted Wi-Fi in schools. Read the full article here.



Summary

Parents expect teachers to educate our children to the best of their ability. We all pay taxes and extra school fees so they may have adequate buildings, desks and workbooks with which to learn. In return we expect school administrator's, to the best of their ability, provide students with a safe place to learn. Which is why as a parent of children in the English Montreal School Board system I was surprised to find the school board officials had installed WiFi in the schools without asking permission or notifying parents. The World Health Organization classifies WiFi as a 2B carcinogen. Situations like these have resulted in parents all across Canada having to educate school board administrators on the dangers of the technology they have unilaterally decided to install in schools; exposing our children. The EMSB responded by quietly issuing a public statement on WiFi safety. The following rebuttal letter is one parents attempt to help fellow parents decide for themselves.

In April of 2014 I discovered my daughter's elementary school had suddenly installed WiFi in the school. I immediately attended the next EMSB commissioners meeting May 5th and they confirmed to me that they did not perform any health review prior to approving the installation of WiFi in all schools. I informed them that recently the World Health Organization (WHO) placed WiFi in the same class of carcinogen as DDT, lead. The meeting ended there but I was urged to contact the Deputy Director General for future questions. After having emailed the EMSB an information package detailing the dangers of WiFi I met with the Deputy Director General and three other school board representatives in August of 2014. They politely took my concerns under advisement but said they are deferring to the Education and Health ministries' judgement regarding its safety. They promised to post an official position on the EMSB soon (still waiting).




Visit this page often for updates and news regarding this issue.


School Board and Government Officials Contact Information

MPs

Stéphane Dion
Saint-Laurent--Cartierville, Quebec
Email: stephane.dion@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-996-5789

Maria Mourani
Ahuntsic, Quebec
Email: maria.mourani@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-992-0983

Emmanuel Dubourg
Bourassa, Quebec
Email: Emmanuel.Dubourg@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-995-6108

Alexandre Boulerice
Rosemont--La Petite-Patrie, Quebec
Email: alexandre.boulerice@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-992-0423

Marc Garneau
Westmount--Ville-Marie, Quebec
Email: marc.garneau@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-996-7267

Lysane Blanchette-Lamothe
Pierrefonds--Dollard, Quebec
Email: lysane.blanchette-Lamothe@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-992-2689

Irwin Cotler
Mount Royal, Quebec
Email: irwin.cotler@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-995-0121

Massimo Pacetti
Saint-Léonard--Saint-Michel, Quebec
Email: massimo.pacetti@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-995-9414

Paulina Ayala
Honoré-Mercier, Quebec
Email: paulina.ayala@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-995-0580

Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet
Hochelaga, Quebec
Email: marjolaine.boutin-sweet@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-947-4576

Tyrone Benskin
Jeanne-Le Ber, Quebec
Email: tyrone.benskin@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-995-6403

Justin Trudeau
Papineau, Quebec
Email: tyrone.benskin@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-995-8872

Mayors

Alan DeSousa
Saint-Laurent
Email: saint-laurent@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone:

Gilles Deguire
Montréal-Nord
Email: montreal-nord@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 328-4000 poste 4024

Michel Bissonnet
Saint-Léonard
Email: bureau.st-leonard@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 328-8410

François W. Croteau
Rosemont–La Petite–Patrie
Email: info-rpp@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 872-6473

Anie Samson
Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension
Email: vsp@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 872-8173

Russell Copeman
Côte-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
Email: cdnndg@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 872-4863

Peter Trent
City of Westmount
Email: pftrent@westmount.org
Telephone: 514 989-5200

Anthony Housefather
City of Côte Saint-Luc
Email: ahousefather@cotesaintluc.org
Telephone: 514 485-6800

Pierre Gagnier
Ahuntsic-Cartierville
Email: ahuntsic-cartierville@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 872-2246

Chantal Rouleau
Rivière-des-Prairies-Pointe-aux-Trembles
Email: rdppat@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 868-4050

Réal Ménard
Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve
Email: mercier-hochelaga-maisonneuve@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 872-8759

Luc Ferrandez
Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Email: le-plateau-mont-royal@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 872-8023

Marie Cinq-Mars
Outremont
Email: outremont@ville.montreal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 495-6220

William Steinberg
Town of Hampstead
Email: wsteinberg@hampstead.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 369-8200

Philippe Roy
Town of Mount Royal
Email: philippe.roy@town.mount-royal.qc.ca
Telephone: 514 734-2914

Ministers

Gaétan Barrette
Minister of Health and Social Services
Email: ministre@msss.gouv.qc.ca
Telephone: 418-266-7171

Nicole Léger
Official Opposition critic for elementary and secondary education and persistence in school
Email: Nicole.Leger.PAT@assnat.qc.ca
Telephone: 418-263-0672

Éric Caire
Second Opposition Group critic for health and social services
Email: ecaire-lape@assnat.qc.ca
Telephone: 418-644-0185

Yves Bolduc
Minister of Education, Recreation and Sports
Email: ministre@mels.gouv.qc.ca
Telephone: 418-644-0664

Sébastien Schneeberger
Second Opposition Group critic for public health
Email: sschneeberger-drum@assnat.qc.ca
Telephone: 418-644-1052

Donald Martel
Second Opposition Group critic for the environment, sustainable development, wildlife and parks
Email: donaldmartel-nico@assnat.qc.ca
Telephone: 819-233-3521

Commissioners

Angela Mancini
Chairman
Email: Angela.mancini@emsb.qc.ca

Rosa Cerrelli
Chairman
Email: rcerrelli@emsb.qc.ca

Agostino Cannavino
Member
Email: acannavino@emsb.qc.ca

Ted Donnini
Member
Email: tdonnini@emsb.qc.ca

Marvin Helfenbaum
Member
Email: mhelfenbaum@emsb.qc.ca

James Kromida
Member
Email: jkromida@emsb.qc.ca

Richard Lalonde
Member
Email: rlalonde@emsb.qc.ca

Liz Leaman
Member
Email: lleaman@emsb.qc.ca

Albert Perez
Member
Email: aperez@emsb.qc.ca

Ginette Sauvé-Frankel
Member
Email: gsauve-frankel@emsb.qc.ca

Frank Verrillo
Member
Email: fverrillo@emsb.qc.ca

Syd Wise
Member
Email: swise@emsb.qc.ca

Patricia Willis
Member
Email: pwillis@emsb.qc.ca

Sylvia Lo Bianco
Vice-Chairman
Email: slobianco@emsb.qc.ca

Rocco Barbieri
Member
Email: rbarbieri@emsb.qc.ca

Gianfranco Di Cesare
Member
Email: fdicesare@emsb.qc.ca

Julien Feldman
Vice-Chairman
Email: jfeldman@emsb.qc.ca

Ellie Israel
Member
Email: eisrael@emsb.qc.ca

Joseph Lalla
Member
Email: jlalla@emsb.qc.ca

Patricia Lattanzio
Member
Email: plattanzio@emsb.qc.ca

Ann Marie Matheson
Member
Email: amatheson@emsb.qc.ca

Bernard Praw
Member
Email: bpraw@emsb.qc.ca

Dominic Spiridigliozzi
Member
Email: dspiridigliozzi@emsb.qc.ca

Anne Williams
Member
Email: awilliams@emsb.qc.ca

Mario Bentrovato
Member
Email: mbentrovato@emsb.qc.ca

Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment. If you haven't already registered, please click here. Alternatively you may login using one of the methods below.

Your Language:
English French Spanish

Support Us

C4ST is completely funded by concerned citizens such as yourself. 

DONATE

Stand Up As Canadians...

Let your trustees and politicians know of your concerns!


Select Recipients For Your Email

MPs

MPs

Mayors

Mayors

Ministers

Ministers

Commissioners

Commissioners

For ideas on what to include in your letter, please review this document.

drag to expand

In order to use this tool to submit messages to the officials responsible for this tower, you must agree to become a member of Canadians For Safe Technology. In doing so, we will be able to keep you updated by e-mail on breaking news and calls to action as they occur. At any time, you will have the option of removing yourself from our distribution list.

Your message will also be automatically sent to the Minister of Industry, Minister of Health, Minister of Education and the School Board's Director of Education.