Home Page

Share this school board profile with your neighbors, friends and families as well as other concerned parents.

ON, Simcoe County District School Board

Summary

Parents from the Simcoe region have expressed concerns regarding the implementation and use of wireless technology in SCDSB schools.  Through delegations, correspondence, emails, meetings, phone calls and media interviews, these parents have referenced national and international reports from researchers, scientists, journalists which support the parent’s concerns that wireless technology is harmful to humans, particularly developing children.

Wireless technologies have been installed at all SCDSB facilities in order that today’s learners can be educated through 21st century teaching strategies and tools.  The Simcoe District School Board believes that wireless technology is the foundation upon which the move to integrate technology into classroom.

Low-level microwave radiation levels from WIFI are continuous. Some children and teachers are experiencing health issues as a result of the accumulative effects of this radiation.  Some parents were forced to remove their children from the public school system because of the negative health impact that resulted.  Other parents who are aware of the potential risks of long-term exposure to low levels of microwave radiation withdrew their children from the public school system as a precautionary response to this “class 2B – possible carcinogen”, as deemed by the World Health Organization (May 31, 2011). The Ontario Health and Safety Act lists microwave radiation as a potential hazard.

The Simcoe District Public School Board states that it is following the guidelines set by Health Canada which suggest there is no evidence of negative health effects of Wi-fi, to date.  The Safety Code 6 guideline is outdated.  It does not take into consideration long term exposures or the effects of microwave radiation on young children whose bodies are developing rapidly. Safety code 6 also does not take into consideration the other negative biological effects resulting from the accumulative effects of this radiation. Health Canada has no evidence that WIFI is safe for children, and when parents contacted Health Canada about their concerns about their childrens’ health, Health Canada would not issue a letter stating that wi-fi is safe for children and pregnant women who make up the majority of the school population.

Parents from the Simcoe region have expressed concerns regarding the implementation and use of wireless technology in SCDSB schools.  Through delegations, correspondence, emails, meetings, phone calls and media interviews, these parents have referenced national and international reports from researchers, scientists, journalists which support the parent’s concerns that wireless technology is harmful to humans, particularly developing children.

Some parents have expressed an interest in having annual informed consent, knowledge of where the access points are and measured radiation levels.  Some parents have requested accommodations for students diagnosed with electromagnetic sensitivities.

Videos of students who have become electromagnetically sensitive to wireless has also been presented.  These children complained of symptoms the parents attribute to wireless, electromagnetic, radiation, noting that these symptoms disappear when they are away from wireless access points. Parents from Mountain View Elementary School have requested that the wireless access points be turned off as much as possible and that the school also be hardwired for high speed internet connectivity at the parents’ expense.  There are parents from other SCDSB schools who do not want their children exposed to wireless microwave radiation and would like their children to have safe, high-speed, hard wired Ethernet connections. They would welcome a “Round Table” approach to solving this critical health issue. They believe that brainstorming solutions with the Board as a first step to safer technology for their children.  

To inform parents on this issue, an information night on “WIFI in schools – Is It Safe?” with guest speaker Rodney Palmer from Simcoe Safe School Committee will take place on Tuesday June 4th at the Holly Rec Centre in Barrie at 7 pm. Parents will learn more about the science behind WIFI and the impact wireless can have on the bodies of a young learner.

Collectively, parents’ voices can be heard by sending an email to your Trustees, MP, and MPP using the C4ST profile sheet.  Let’s find win-win solutions so children can use high speed 21st century tools safely.

School Board and Government Officials Contact Information

Simcoe County MPs

Kellie Leitch
MP - Simcoe-Grey
501 Hume Street
Collingwood, Ontario, L9Y 4H8
Email: Kellie.Leitch@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 705-445-5557
Fax: 705-445-5155

Bruce Stanton
MP - Simcoe-North
575 West Street South, Unit 2A
Orillia, Ontario, L3V 7N6
Email: bruce.stanton@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 705-327-0513
Fax: 705-327-8310

Peter Van Loan
MP - York-Simcoe
45 Grist MIll Road, Unit 10
Holland Landing, Ontario, L9N 1M7
Email: peter.vanloan@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 905-898-1600
Fax: 905-898-4600

Simcoe County MPPs

Rod Jackson
MPP - Barrie
14 - 20 Bell Farm Road
Barrie, Ontario, L4M 6E4
Email: rod.jackson@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-726-5538

Garfield Dunlopp
MPP - Simcoe North
Orillia Office
14 Coldwater Road West
Orillia, Ontario L3V 3L1
Email: garfield.dunlopco@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-326-3246
Midland Office
482 Elizabeth Street
Midland, Ontario L4R 1Z8
Email: garfield.dunlopco@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-526-8671

Tim Hudak
MPP - Niagra West-Glanbrook
M1-4961 King Street East
Beamsville, Ontario L0R 1B0
Email: tim.hudakco@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 905-563-1755
Jim Wilson
MPP - Simcoe-Grey
Alliston Office
28 - 180 Parsons Road
Alliston, Ontario L9R 1E8
Email: jim.wilson@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-435-4087
Collingwood Office
50 Hume Street
Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1V2
Email: jim.wilson@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-446-1090

Julia Munro
MPP - Simcoe South
8-45 Grist Mill Road
Holland Landing, Ontario L9N 1M7
Email: julia.munro@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 905-895-1555

Board of Trustees

Robert North (Chair)
Adjala-Tosorontio, Essa
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: rnorth@scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-205-0900

Peter Beacock (Vice Chair)
Oro-Medonte & Springwater
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: pbeacock@scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-332-7816

Debra Edwards
Orillia
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: debra.edwards@rogers.com
Telephone: 705-325-4887

Jodi Lloyd
Severn, Ramara & Tay
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: jlloyd@scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-329-7745

Krista Mayne
Barrie Wards 4,5,6
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: kmayne@scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-795-8938

Caroline Smith
Collingwood & Clearview
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: caroline.smith@rogers.com
Telephone: 705-817-1833
Donna Armstrong
Innisfil
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: darmstrong@scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-431-9982

Nicole Black
New Tecumseth & Bradford West Gwillimbury
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: nbarnettblack@scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-795-0777

Susanne Ley
Barrie Wards 1,2,3
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: sley@scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-726-8366

Michele Locke
Midland, Penetanguishene, Wasaga Beach, Tiny
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: mlocke@scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-795-7233

Amanda Monague
First Nation Communities
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: amonague@trustee.scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-792-8065

Christine Williams
Barrie Wards 7,8,9, 10
Education Centre
1170 Hwy26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: clwilliams@scdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-795-3578

Wardens

Cal Patterson
Warden
Administration Centre
1110 Hwy 26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: warden@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-726-9300 ext. 1226
Fax: 705-725-1285
Harry Hughes
Deputy Warden
Administration Centre
1110 Hwy 26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: harry.hughes@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-487-2171

Mayors and Deputies

Tom Walsh
Mayor, Township of Adjala-Tosorontio
Email: tom.walsh@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-434-5055

Doug White
Mayor, Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury
Email: doug.white@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 905-775-5366

Ken Ferguson
Mayor, Township of Clearview
Email: ken.ferguson@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-428-6230

Sandra Cooper
Mayor, Town of Collingwood
Email: sandra.cooper@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-445-1030

Terry Dowdall
Mayor, Township of Essa
Email: terry.dowdall@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-424-9770

Barb Baguley
Mayor, Town of Innisfil
Email: barb.baguley@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-436-3710

Gord McKay
Mayor, Town of Midland
Email: gord.mckay@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-526-4275

Mike MacEachern
Mayor, Town of New Tecumseth
Email: mike.maceachern@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-435-6219

Harry Hughes
Mayor, Township of Ordo-Medonte
Email: harry.hughes@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-487-2171

Gerry Marshall
Mayor, Town of Penetanguishene
Email: gerry.marshall@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-549-7453

Bill Duffy
Mayor, Township of Ramara
Email: bill.duffy@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-848-5374

Mike Burkett
Mayor, Township of Severn
Email: mike.burkett@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-325-2315

Linda Collins
Mayor, Township of Springwater
Email: linda.collins@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-728-4784

Scott Warnock
Mayor, Township of Tay
Email: scott.warnock@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-534-7248

Ray Miller
Mayor, Township of Tiny
Email: ray.millar@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-526-4204

Cal Patterson
Mayor, Town of Wasaga Beach
Email: cal.patterson@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-429-3844

Mary Small Brett
Deputy Mayor, Township of Adjala-Tosorontio
Email: mary.smallbrett@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-434-5055

Rob Keffer
Deputy Mayor, Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury
Email: rob.keffer@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 905-775-5366

Alicia Savage
Deputy Mayor, Township of Clearview
Email: alicia.savage@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-428-6230

Rick Lloyd
Deputy Mayor, Town of Collingwood
Email: rick.lloyd@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-445-1030

Sandie Macdonald
Deputy Mayor, Township of Essa
Email: sandie.macdonald@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-424-9770

Dan Davidson
Deputy Mayor, Town of Innisfil
Email: dan.davidson@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-436-3710

Stephan Kramp
Deputy Mayor, Town of Midland
Email: stephan.kramp@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-526-4275

Rick Milne
Deputy Mayor, Town of New Tecumseth
Email: rick.milne@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-435-6219

Ralph Hough
Deputy Mayor, Township of Ordo-Medonte
Email: ralph.hough@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-487-2171

Patrick Marion
Deputy Mayor, Town of Penetanguishene
Email: patrick.marion@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-549-7453

Basil Clarke
Deputy Mayor, Township of Ramara
Email: basil.clarke@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-484-5374

Judith Cox
Deputy Mayor, Township of Severn
Email: judith.cox@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-325-2315

Dan McLean
Deputy Mayor, Township of Springwater
Email: dan.mclean@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-728-4784

Bill Rawson
Deputy Mayor, Township of Tay
Email: bill.rawson@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-534-7248

George Lawrence
Deputy Mayor, Township of Tiny
Email: george.lawrence@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-526-4204

David Foster
Deputy Mayor, Town of Wasaga Beach
Email: david.foster@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-429-3844

Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment. If you haven't already registered, please click here. Alternatively you may login using one of the methods below.

Your Language:
English French Spanish

Support Us

C4ST is completely funded by concerned citizens such as yourself. 

DONATE

Stand Up As Canadians...